I am rarely sure of anything

riverimage

“When people tell you, “No”, just smile and tell them, “Yes, I can.” – Julie Foudy

I am always so impressed by those teachers who share their thoughts in blogs. For a long time I have considered this to be something that I could not do with anything like the same level of insight, expertise, clarity and purpose that so many of the education bloggers manage on such a regular basis.

However,  I think that now is a good time to give it a try. As many will know I have made a major change to my professional situation in the last few months, moving from being a headteacher to be a classroom teacher once again. This is proving to be a wonderful choice for such a wide variety of reasons. It is good for my personal wellbeing, my health and crucially for my professional joy. I am once again loving every second of being a teacher and hope to continue to do so for the second twenty years that I intend to be a teacher.

What I have found is that I am experiencing a freedom and satisfaction that I have not had for a long time. What I am also finding is more time to focus on the basics of teaching and learning. The blogs I hope to write about a range of issues in education will be the result of this. If they achieve nothing else, they will help me to gather and marshal thoughts in the coming months and years.

Leave a comment